Mavs Earn Nine All-District Baseball Spots

Mavs Place Nine On All-District Baseball Team
Posted on //
This is the image for the news article titled Mavs Place Nine On All-District Baseball TeamNine Marshall Mavericks have been named to the 2018 All-District 16-5A Baseball Team released recently.

Marshall senior catcher/third baseman Kolten Roberson was named Defensive Player of the Year in the district. He committed no errors in 50 chances defensively at third base during the district season, with no errors and a caught-stealing percentage of 67 percent behind the plate during district.

Earning first-team honors for Marshall were senior pitchers Trevor Clark and Hunter Neal, both of whom were unanimous selections. Clark went 3-4 in district with a 1.83 ERA and 40 strikeouts in 42 innings pitched, while Neal was 3-1 with a 2.29 ERA and 23 strikeouts in 33 innings pitched, with one save against district competition.

Senior outfielder Cade Bickerdike was also a first-team selection after hitting .462 in district with 8 doubles, 19 runs scored and 15 stolen bases.

Junior Brevin Randle was named second-team All-District as an outfielder for the Mavs. Earning honorable mention recognition were sophomore Jarius Mitchell; juniors Blake Arst and Carson Carlile and freshman Hayden Kelehan.

The Mavs were also well-represented on the Academic All-District team for their work in the classroom. Earning Academic All-District recognition from Marshall are seniors Kolten Roberson, Osiel Suarez, Hunter Neal, Cade Bickerdike, Trent Ogle, Tallon Stevens and Jonas Holliday; juniors Blake Arst, Brett Hicks, Raford McCracken, Carson Carlile and Brevin Randle; sophomores Payton McMullen and Jarius Mitchell; and freshman Hayden Kelehan.

The Mavs earned their fourth straight playoff appearance under head coach Derek Dunaway this season.