Mav Baseball Earns Top Academic Award

Mav Baseball Earns Top Academic Award
Posted on //
This is the image for the news article titled Mav Baseball Earns Top Academic AwardThe American Baseball Coaches Association has honored the 2018 Marshall High School baseball team with its prestigious ABCA Team Academic Excellence Award, which highlights programs coached by ABCA members that posted a cumulative team GPA over 3.0 on a 4.0 scale for the 2017-2018 academic year.

The Mavs, under head coach Derek Dunaway, were one of just six high school teams in Texas to make the list, and were one of just 94 high schools from across the nation to earn the Team Academic Excellence Award.

"We are thrilled to be able to honor all of this year's Team Academic Excellence Award recipients," said ABCA Executive Director Craig Keilitz in a press release. "It is a privilege for our association to have the opportunity to highlight so many deserving teams and recognize all of the hard work they put in off the field throughout the year."

A record number of teams were recognized with the award this year. In total, 292 college and high school programs received this year’s award, including 94 high school programs and 77 teams from NCAA Division III. The award also was given to the Mavs’ cross-town neighbors, East Texas Baptist University, which made the list as an NCAA Division III program.

Coaches were able to nominate their teams for the ABCA Team Academic Excellence Award following the conclusion of their spring semesters prior to the nomination deadline of July 18. To be honored, teams had to meet the following criteria:

• Must be a high school or college team.
• Head coach must be a current ABCA member.
• Team must have a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.00 on a 4.0 scale during the 2017-18 academic year.

The American Baseball Coaches Association has a long tradition of recognizing the achievements of baseball coaches and student-athletes. The ABCA/Rawlings All-America Teams are the nation's oldest, founded in 1949, and the ABCA's awards program also includes the ABCA/Rawlings All-Region Awards, the ABCA/Diamond Regional & National Coaches of the Year and several other major awards such as the ABCA Hall of Fame and the Dave Keilitz Ethics in Coaching Award.